Archive of Full Awards: Global Brain Disorders Research

Review an archive of full awards (R01s) for Fogarty's Global Brain Disorders Research program.

More Brain Disorders Grant Awards

 

Fiscal Year First Awarded Project Title
(Click to view Project Information in NIH RePORTER)
Principal Investigator Foreign Collaborator Country of Focus Awarding NIH IC
2009 Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury in Latin America

Carney, Nancy A
Oregon Health and Science University
Phone: (503) 494-0663
Email: carneyn@ohsu.edu

Gustavo Petroni
Fundacion Alas
Email: gustavopetroni@gmail.com
Phone: 011-549-341-514-7543
Argentina NICHD
2008 Role of CNS Opportunistic Infections in Subsequent Development of HIV Encephalitis Pardo-Villamizar, Carlos A
Johns Hopkins University
Phone: (443)287-4656
Email: anath1@jhmi.edu

Paul Bangirana
Makerere University Kampala, Uganda
Phone: 256 712 190469
Email: pbangirana@yahoo.com

Uganda NINDS
2008 Varieties of Impulsivity in Opiate and Stimulant Users Vassileva, Jasmin L
University of Illinois at Chicago
Phone: (312) 413-0149
Email: jvassileva@psych.uic.edu
St. Naum University Hospital:
Stefan Georgiev
Phone: 011 339 888 529 988
Email: stevepsy2004@yahoo.com
Georgi Vasilev
Phone: 011 359 885 000 533
Email: georgi63vasilev@gmail.com
Bulgaria NIDA
2008 Reading Disabilities in Zambian Children Grigorenko, Elena
Yale University
Phone: (203) 737-2316
Email: elena.grigorenko@yale.edu
Robert Serpell
University of Zambia
Phone: +(260) 1 - 274783
Email: serpell@zamnet.zm
Zambia NIH OD
2008 Epilepsy-associated stigma in Zambia: Evidence-based interventions and outcomes

Birbeck, Gretchen
Michigan State University
Phone: (517) 884-0277 Ext: 141
Email: gretchen.birbeck@ht.msu.edu

Elwyn Chomba
University Teaching Hospital
Email: echomba@zamnet.zm
Phone: +260 211 254655
Zambia NINDS
2008 Neuroprotective Gene Therapy in the Brain of Senile Rats Goya, Rodolfo
National University of La Plata
Principal Investigator EmailPhone: (54-221)425-6735
Email: rgoya@netverk.com.ar
Martha Bohn
Northwest University
Phone: 773-755-6355
Email: m-bohn@northwestern.edu
Argentina NIA
2007 HIV, Malaria and Neurobehavioral Development in Early Childhood HOLDING, PENNY A
Case Western Reserve University
Ctr For Global Hlth & Diseases
Kilifi
Kenya
Phone : (216) 368-4817
Email: penny.holding@uclmail.net
NEWTON, CHARLES
KEMRI- CGMR
Kenya
Email: Cnewton@kilifi.kemri-wellcome.org
KENYA NIMH
2007 Development of RNAi as Treatment for Neurodegeneration KOSIK, KENNETH S
University Of California
Neuroscience Research Institute
Santa Barbara, CA
United States
Phone: (805) 893-5222
Email: Kosik@Lifesci.Ucsb.Edu
CARDONA-GOMEZ,PATRICIA
Univ. of Antioquia
Columbia
Phone: 57-4-2106458
Email: patricia.cardona@neurociencias. udea.edu.co
COLOMBIA NIA
2007 Preventing FAS/ARND in Russian Children BALACHOVA, TATIANA
University of Oklahoma Oklahoma City, OK
United States Phone: (405) 271-8858
Email: tatiana-balachova@ouhsc.edu
TSVETKOVA, LARISSA
St. Petersburg State University
Russia
Email: larissa@psy.pu.ru
RUSSIA NIAAA
2007 Development Stress, Exercise, and Vulnerability to Neuronal Injury ZIGMOND, MICHAEL
University Of Pittsburgh
Dept Of Neurology
Pittsburgh, PA
United States
Phone: (412) 624-4258
Email: Zigmond@Pitt.Edu
RUSSELL,VIVIENNE
University of Cape Town
Department of Human Biology
South Africa
Phone:
Email: Vivienne.Russell@uct.ac.za
SOUTH AFRICA FIC
2007 Traumatic Brain Injury in Latin America: Lifespan Analysis CHESNUT, RANDALL M
University Of Washington
Dept Of Neurological Surgery
Seattle, WA
United States
Phone : (206) 744-9322
Email: Chesnutr@U.Washington.Edu
PETRONI, GUSTAVO
Hospital De Emergencias
Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Phone: 011-54-341-482-7588
Email: gpetroni@arnet.com.ar
ARGENTINA NINDS
2007 Health & Psychosocial Need: Children with Developmental Disorder in a Time of HIV DAVIDSON, LESLIE
Columbia University
New York, NY
United States
Phone: 212-342-0247
Email: Lld1@Columbia.Edu

KAUCHALI, SHAUIB
Univ KwaZulu-Natal
Durban
South Africa
Phone: 084-581-1142
Email: kauchalis1@ukzn.ac.za

CHHAGAN, MEERA
Chief Specialist & Head Maternal & Child Health Unit University of KwaZulu Natal
Office: +27-31-260-4352
Fax: +27-31-260-3488
Email: chhagan@ukzn.ac.za
Email: chhaganmeera@gmail.com

SOUTH AFRICA NIDA
2007 Zn & Maternal-Infant Brain Function in S. Ethiopia: Randomized Controlled Trials HAMBIDGE, K MICHAEL
University Of Colordao
Dept Of Pediatrics
Health Sciences Center
Denver, CO
United States
Phone : 303-724-3261
Email: michael.hambidge@ucdenver.edu
ABEBE,YEWELSEW
Department of Rural Development and Family Sciences
Debub University
Ethiopia
Phone: 011-251-462-210-418
Email:Yewel_a@yahoo.com
ETHIOPIA NICHD
2006 Retrovial Infections of the Nervous System in Peru ZUNT, JOSEPH R
Harborview Medical Center
Dept Of Neurology
Seattle, WA
United States
Phone: (206) 731-3251
Email: Jzunt@U.Washington.Edu
MONTANO,SILVIA
Naval Medical Research Center Detachment (NMRCD)
Lima
Peru
Phone:011-511-614-4163
Email: silvia.montano@med.navy.mil
PERU NINDS
2006 Brain Research to Ameliorate Impaired Neurodevelopment-Home-based Intervention CARLO, WALDEMAR A.
University Of Alabama At Birmingham
Division Of Neonatology
Birmingham, AL
United States
Phone : (205) 934-4680
Email: wcarlo@peds.uab.edu
PASHA, OMRANA
The Aga Khan Univ
Pakistan
Phone: 92-21-486-4948
Email: Omrana.Pasha@Aku.Edu
PAKISTAN NICHD
2006 Age related Cognitive Loss in Mumbai, India PUROHIT, DUSHYANT P
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Department of Pathology
New York, NY
United States
Phone: (212) 241-0602
Email: dushyant.purohit@mountsinai.org
DESHPANDE, JAYA
Nair Hospital & T.N. Medical College
India
Phone: 24076205
Email: atharnas@yahoo.com
INDIA NIA
2006 Pediatric HIV-encephalopathy in DRC: effect of ART & role of compartmentalization VAN RIE, ANNELIES
Univ Of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Dept Of Epidemiology
Chapel Hill, NC
United States
Phone : (919) 966-1420
Email: Vanrie@Email.Unc.Edu
MALLEWA, MACPHERSON
University of Liverpool
The Royal Liverpool Children's
Malawi
Email: macphers@liverpool.ac.uk
MALAWI NICHD
2006 APOE and the Effects of Malnutrition on Cognitive and Intestinal Development GUERRANT, RICHARD L
University Of Virginia
Dept Of Internal Medicine
Center For Global Health
Charlottesville, VA
United States
Phone : (434) 924-5242
Email" RLG9A@virginia.edu
LIMA, ALDO
Clinical Research Unit, Faculty of Medicine
Federal University of Ceara
Brazil
Phone: (085)243-9440
Email: alima@sec.secrel.com.br
BRAZIL NICHD

Footer