Skip to main content

NIH - Fogarty International Center - Advancing Science for Global Health

Skip Navigation Links

Division of International Science Policy, Planning and Evaluation (DISPPE) and Center for Global Health Studies (CGHS)

The Division of International Science Policy, Planning and Evaluation (DISPPE) provides strategic information and guidance to the Fogarty Director regarding the planning and evaluation of programs at the Center. The division advises Fogarty and its Director on matters of international science policy, legislation and partnerships. DISPPE tracks activities of international funding agencies and research trends in global health.

To complement DISPPE's strategic guidance efforts, Fogarty supports the Center for Global Health Studies (CGHS) serves as a hub for project-based scholarship in global health science and policy. The Center is also a forum for international scientific dialogue and collaboration in global health research, and provides a platform for short-term training in specific areas related to global health research. CGHS serves as a catalyst that convenes NIH with leading low- and middle-income country (LMIC) and U.S. scientists, program implementers and policymakers to discuss critical research priorities, opportunities and synergies around specific global health challenges.

Key Staff

Director, Division of International Science Policy, Planning and Evaluation
Director, Center for Global Health Studies:
Nalini Anand, J.D., M.P.H.
Nalini.Anand@nih.gov

Secretary:
Susan Harrison, B.A.
Susan.Harrison@nih.gov

Deputy Director, Division of International Science Policy, Planning and Evaluation:
Rachel Sturke, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.I.A.
Rachel.Sturke@nih.gov

Senior Scientist:
Linda Kupfer, Ph.D.
Linda.Kupfer@nih.gov

Bioethicist:
Joseph Millum, Ph.D.
Joseph.Millum@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Susan Vorkoper, M.P.H., M.S.W.
Susan.Vorkoper@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
James Alaro, M.S., Ph.D. (Contractor)
James.Alaro@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Lydia Kline, M.P.H., M.S. (Contractor)
Lydia.Kline@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Celia Wolfman, M.S.P.P.M. (Contractor)
Celia.Wolfman@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Christine Harmston, M.H.Sc. (Contractor)
Christine.Harmston@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Ella Ewart, M.A. (Contractor)
Ella.Ewart@nih.gov

Investigator Emeritus:
Richard Krause, M.D.
Richard.Krause@nih.gov

Secretary:
Mantra Singh, B.S.
Mantra.Singh@nih.gov

Related Resources


Fogarty International Center's Strategic Plan

Fogarty's Strategic Plan will advance the global health research agenda by building on past and current Fogarty investments and successes in a way that responds to the changed landscape in global health.

Disease Control Priorities Project

The Disease Control Priorities Project is an ongoing effort to assess disease control priorities and produce evidence-based analysis and resource materials to inform health policymaking in developing countries.

Evaluation of Fogarty Programs

The division designs, structures and implements program assessments across Fogarty. DISPPE has developed a Framework for Evaluation, and has completed evaluations of a variety of Fogarty programs. For more information please contact Division Deputy Director Dr. Rachel Sturke at Rachel.Sturke@nih.gov.

Recent Fogarty program and division reviews and evaluations:

International Bioethics

Fogarty supports the development of sound international bioethics policy and global ethical review capacity. Fogarty is a co-founder and funder of the Global Forum on Bioethics in Research, which provides a unique platform for stakeholders in health research in the developing world engage in dialogue about ethical concerns. The Center also provides bioethics research training grants to help domestic and foreign institutions develop bioethics training programs related to performing research in developing countries; and a collection of Bioethics resources for researchers, committees, teachers and students. View more information from NIH Bioethics Resources.

The current edition of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) International Compilation of Human Research Standards lists over 1,000 laws, regulations and guidelines on human subject protections in over 100 countries.

Public Private Partnerships

DISPPE plays a key role in developing Public Private Partnerships (PPP) as a means for Fogarty to accomplish its public health mission through the development of synergistic relationships with outside entities. More information about Public Private Partnerships at the NIH.

To view Adobe PDF files, download current, free accessible plug-ins from the Adobe's website.

Updated September 2014