NIH: Fogarty International Center NIH: Fogarty International Center
Advancing Science for Global Health
Advancing Science for Global Health
Home > Grants > Search Current & Recent Grants > Archive of Full Awards: Global Brain Disorders Research Print

Archive of Full Awards: Global Brain Disorders Research

Review an archive of full awards (R01s) for Fogarty's Global Brain Disorders Research program.

More Brain Disorders Grant Awards

Fiscal Year First AwardedProject Title
(Click to view Project Information in NIH RePORTER)
Principal InvestigatorForeign CollaboratorCountry of FocusAwarding NIH IC
2012 A Dose Escalation Safety and Feasibility Study of Enteral Levetiracetam for Seizures Birbeck, Gretchen
University of Rochester
Email: Gretchen_Birbeck@urmc.rochester.edu
Phone: 585-273-4265
Fraction Dzinjalamala
University of Malawi College of Medicine
Blantyre, Malawi
Phone: 265 999 631 295
Email: fkdz72@yahoo.com
MalawiNINDS
2012 Multi-pronged genetic studies of schizophrenia in an inbred population Nimgaonkar, Vishwajit Laxmikant
University of Pittsburgh
Phone: (412) 246-6353
Email: VishwajitNL@upmc.edu
Wafaa El-Bahaey
Mansoura Hospital, Mansoura, Egypt
wafaaelbahaey@yahoo.com
EgyptNIMH
2011 Kerala-Einstein study: Healthy lifestyle, vascular disease, and cognitive decline Verghese, Joe; Mathuranath, Pavagada S
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Phone: (718) 430-3877
Email: joe.verghese@einstein.yu.edu
Abdul Naha Salam, Baby Memorial
Hospital, Kerala, India
Phone: 919895332132
Email: Salamnha@rediffmail.com
IndiaNIA
2011 Long Term Effects of Chronic HIV Infection on the Developing Brain Achim, Cristian L
University of California San Diego
Phone: (858) 822-1879
Email: cachim@ucsd.edu
Dan Duiculescu
Victor Babes Hospital for Tropical and Infectious Diseases
Phone: 4072-232-7442
Email: danduiculescu@yahoo.com
Romania NIMH
2011 Gene-Environment Interaction in Cognition in Venezuelan Families Maestre, Gladys
Columbia University Medical Center
Phone: (212) 305-2391
Email: gem6@columbia.edu
Chacon, Inara
Universidad de Zulia, Venezuela
Email: laboratorio@neurociencias.org.ve
Venezuela NIA
2011 Computerized Cognitive Rehabilitation in Children after Severe Malaria Boivin, Michael Joseph
Michigan State University
boivin@msu.edu
Noeline Nakasujja
Makerere University
drnoeline@yahoo.com
UgandaNICHD
2011 Longitudinal Neuroimaging and Cognitive Study of HIV-Infected Children Van Der Kouwe, Andre Jan Willem
Massachusetts General Hospital
Phone: (617) 726-4704
Email: andre@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu
Ernesta Meintjes
University of Cape Town
Email: ernesta.meintjes@uct.ac.za

Barbara Laughton
Stellonbosch University
Email: BL2@sun.ac.za
South Africa NICHD
2011 Neuropathogenesis and Neuroinvasiveness of Subtype C Human Immunodeficiency Virus Wood, Charles
University of Nebraska at Lincoln  
Phone: (402) 472-4550
Email: cwood1@unl.edu
Victor Mudenda
University of Zambia Teaching Hospital, Lusaka, Zambia
Phone: 260-1-250-305
Email: mudenda2003@yahoo.com
ZambiaNINDS
2010 EFECAB: Improving pig management to prevent epilepsy in Burkina Faso Carabin, Helene 
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Phone: (405) 271-2229 Ext: 48083
Email: HELENE-CARABIN@OUHSC.EDU
Athanase Millogo
University de Ouagadougou
Email: athanase.millogo@gmail.com 
Phone: + 226 20 97 00 444
Burkina Faso NINDS
2010 Development of an International Guide to Monitor and Support Child Development Forsyth, Brian W
Yale University
Phone: (203) 688-2475
brian.forsyth@yale.edu
Ilgi Ertem
Department of Pediatrics
Ankara Medical School
Email: ertemilgi@yahoo.com
TurkeyNICHD
2009 Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury in Latin AmericaCarney, Nancy A
Oregon Health and Science University
Phone: (503) 494-0663
Email: carneyn@ohsu.edu
Gustavo Petroni
Fundacion Alas
Email: gustavopetroni@gmail.com
Phone: 011-549-341-514-7543
ArgentinaNICHD
2008 Role of CNS Opportunistic Infections in Subsequent Development of HIV EncephalitisPardo-Villamizar, Carlos A
Johns Hopkins University
Phone: (443)287-4656
Email: anath1@jhmi.edu
Paul Bangirana
Makerere University Kampala, Uganda
Phone: 256 712 190469
Email: pbangirana@yahoo.com
UgandaNINDS
2008 Varieties of Impulsivity in Opiate and Stimulant UsersVassileva, Jasmin L
University of Illinois at Chicago
Phone: (312) 413-0149
Email: jvassileva@psych.uic.edu
St. Naum University Hospital:
Stefan Georgiev
Phone: 011 339 888 529 988
Email: stevepsy2004@yahoo.com
Georgi Vasilev
Phone: 011 359 885 000 533
Email: georgi63vasilev@gmail.com
BulgariaNIDA
2008 Reading Disabilities in Zambian ChildrenGrigorenko, Elena
Yale University
Phone: (203) 737-2316
Email: elena.grigorenko@yale.edu
Robert Serpell
University of Zambia
Phone: +(260) 1 - 274783
Email: serpell@zamnet.zm
Zambia NIH OD
2008 Epilepsy-associated stigma in Zambia: Evidence-based interventions and outcomesBirbeck, Gretchen
Michigan State University
Phone: (517) 884-0277 Ext: 141
Email: gretchen.birbeck@ht.msu.edu
Elwyn Chomba
University Teaching Hospital
Email: echomba@zamnet.zm
Phone: +260 211 254655
ZambiaNINDS
2008 Neuroprotective Gene Therapy in the Brain of Senile RatsGoya, Rodolfo
National University of La Plata
Principal Investigator EmailPhone: (54-221)425-6735
Email: rgoya@netverk.com.ar
Martha Bohn
Northwest University
Phone: 773-755-6355
Email: m-bohn@northwestern.edu
Argentina NIA
2007 HIV, Malaria and Neurobehavioral Development in Early ChildhoodHOLDING, PENNY A
Case Western Reserve University
Ctr For Global Hlth & Diseases
Kilifi
Kenya
Phone : (216) 368-4817
Email: penny.holding@uclmail.net
NEWTON, CHARLES
KEMRI- CGMR
Kenya
Email: Cnewton@kilifi.kemri-wellcome.org
KENYANIMH
2007 Development of RNAi as Treatment for NeurodegenerationKOSIK, KENNETH S
University Of California
Neuroscience Research Institute
Santa Barbara, CA
United States
Phone: (805) 893-5222
Email: Kosik@Lifesci.Ucsb.Edu
CARDONA-GOMEZ,PATRICIA
Univ. of Antioquia
Columbia
Phone: 57-4-2106458
Email: patricia.cardona@neurociencias. udea.edu.co
COLOMBIANIA
2007 Preventing FAS/ARND in Russian ChildrenBALACHOVA, TATIANA
University of Oklahoma Oklahoma City, OK
United States Phone: (405) 271-8858
Email: tatiana-balachova@ouhsc.edu
TSVETKOVA, LARISSA
St. Petersburg State University
Russia
Email: larissa@psy.pu.ru
RUSSIANIAAA
2007 Development Stress, Exercise, and Vulnerability to Neuronal InjuryZIGMOND, MICHAEL
University Of Pittsburgh
Dept Of Neurology
Pittsburgh, PA
United States
Phone: (412) 624-4258
Email: Zigmond@Pitt.Edu
RUSSELL,VIVIENNE
University of Cape Town
Department of Human Biology
South Africa
Phone:
Email: Vivienne.Russell@uct.ac.za
SOUTH AFRICAFIC
2007 Traumatic Brain Injury in Latin America: Lifespan AnalysisCHESNUT, RANDALL M
University Of Washington
Dept Of Neurological Surgery
Seattle, WA
United States
Phone : (206) 744-9322
Email: Chesnutr@U.Washington.Edu
PETRONI, GUSTAVO
Hospital De Emergencias
Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
Phone: 011-54-341-482-7588
Email: gpetroni@arnet.com.ar
ARGENTINANINDS
2007 Health & Psychosocial Need: Children with Developmental Disorder in a Time of HIVDAVIDSON, LESLIE
Columbia University
New York, NY
United States
Phone: 212-342-0247
Email: Lld1@Columbia.Edu
KAUCHALI, SHAUIB
Univ KwaZulu-Natal
Durban
South Africa
Phone: 084-581-1142
Email: kauchalis1@ukzn.ac.za

CHHAGAN, MEERA
Chief Specialist & Head Maternal & Child Health Unit University of KwaZulu Natal
Office: +27-31-260-4352
Fax: +27-31-260-3488
Email: chhagan@ukzn.ac.za
Email: chhaganmeera@gmail.com
SOUTH AFRICANIDA
2007 Zn & Maternal-Infant Brain Function in S. Ethiopia: Randomized Controlled TrialsHAMBIDGE, K MICHAEL
University Of Colordao
Dept Of Pediatrics
Health Sciences Center
Denver, CO
United States
Phone : 303-724-3261
Email: michael.hambidge@ucdenver.edu
ABEBE,YEWELSEW
Department of Rural Development and Family Sciences
Debub University
Ethiopia
Phone: 011-251-462-210-418
Email:Yewel_a@yahoo.com
ETHIOPIANICHD
2006 Retrovial Infections of the Nervous System in PeruZUNT, JOSEPH R
Harborview Medical Center
Dept Of Neurology
Seattle, WA
United States
Phone: (206) 731-3251
Email: Jzunt@U.Washington.Edu
MONTANO,SILVIA
Naval Medical Research Center Detachment (NMRCD)
Lima
Peru
Phone:011-511-614-4163
Email: silvia.montano@med.navy.mil
PERUNINDS
2006 Brain Research to Ameliorate Impaired Neurodevelopment-Home-based InterventionCARLO, WALDEMAR A.
University Of Alabama At Birmingham
Division Of Neonatology
Birmingham, AL
United States
Phone : (205) 934-4680
Email: wcarlo@peds.uab.edu
PASHA, OMRANA
The Aga Khan Univ
Pakistan
Phone: 92-21-486-4948
Email: Omrana.Pasha@Aku.Edu
PAKISTANNICHD
2006 Age related Cognitive Loss in Mumbai, IndiaPUROHIT, DUSHYANT P
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Department of Pathology
New York, NY
United States
Phone: (212) 241-0602
Email: dushyant.purohit@mountsinai.org
DESHPANDE, JAYA
Nair Hospital & T.N. Medical College
India
Phone: 24076205
Email: atharnas@yahoo.com
INDIANIA
2006 Pediatric HIV-encephalopathy in DRC: effect of ART & role of compartmentalizationVAN RIE, ANNELIES
Univ Of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Dept Of Epidemiology
Chapel Hill, NC
United States
Phone : (919) 966-1420
Email: Vanrie@Email.Unc.Edu
MALLEWA, MACPHERSON
University of Liverpool
The Royal Liverpool Children's
Malawi
Email: macphers@liverpool.ac.uk
MALAWINICHD
2006 APOE and the Effects of Malnutrition on Cognitive and Intestinal DevelopmentGUERRANT, RICHARD L
University Of Virginia
Dept Of Internal Medicine
Center For Global Health
Charlottesville, VA
United States
Phone : (434) 924-5242
Email" RLG9A@virginia.edu
LIMA, ALDO
Clinical Research Unit, Faculty of Medicine
Federal University of Ceara
Brazil
Phone: (085)243-9440
Email: alima@sec.secrel.com.br
BRAZILNICHD