Directory of Awards and Collaborating Partners for the Medical Education Partnership Initiative (MEPI)

The Medical Education Partnership Initiative (MEPI) awarded grants in 2010 to African institutions in a dozen countries, forming a network including more than 30 regional partners, country health and education ministries, and more than 20 U.S. and foreign collaborators.

Programmatic Awards | Pilot Grants | Coordinating Center

Programmatic Awards

University of Botswana
, in partnership with Harvard School of Public Health, the University of Pennsylvania, and the Botswana-Harvard Partnership.

Addis Ababa University, in partnership with a consortium of Ethiopian medical schools including Hawassa University, Haremaya Universities, and the Defense Forces Medical Colleges, as well as Emory University, Johns Hopkins University, University of California, San Diego, and University of Wisconsin.

University of Nairobi, in partnership with the University of Maryland-Baltimore, the University of Washington and Kenyatta University.


NIH Fogarty logo

HRSA logo

Universidade de Eduardo Mondlane (UEM), in partnership with University of California, San Diego (UCSD), Universidade Lurio, Universidade Zambeze, the World Health Organization, the Canadian Network for International Surgery and the American College of Surgeons.

University of Ibadan, in partnership with University of Jos, University of Nigeria, University of Maiduguri, Ahmadu Bello University, University of Lagos, the AIDS Prevention Initiative Nigeria Ltd., Northwestern University and the Harvard School of Public Health.

South Africa
University of KwaZulu-Natal, in partnership with Columbia University.

Stellenbosch University, in partnership with the University of Cape Town, Makerere University and Johns Hopkins University.

Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre (KCMC), in partnership with Duke University School of Medicine.

Makerere University, in partnership with Johns Hopkins University, Mbarara University, Kampala International University, Case Western Reserve University, Busitema University, Gulu University, University of Cape Town and Uganda Virus Research Institute.

University of Zambia, in partnership with Vanderbilt University, University of Alabama-Birmingham, Copperbelt University, Cavendish University Zambia, Lusaka Apex Medical University and the University of Maryland.

University of Zimbabwe, in partnership with the University of Colorado-Denver and Stanford University, the University of Cape Town, University College London and King’s College London, Institute of Psychiatry and Howard University.

Pilot Grants

Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, in partnership with University of Michigan.

University of Malawi College of Medicine, in partnership with University of North Carolina, University of Cape Town and Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Coordinating Center

George Washington University, in partnership with the African Center for Global Health and Social Transformation in Kampala, Uganda.

To view Adobe PDF files, download current, free accessible plug-ins from the Adobe's website.

Updated May 2016