U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

NIH: Fogarty International Center NIH: Fogarty International Center
Advancing Science for Global Health
Advancing Science for Global Health
Home > Advisory Board Print

Advisory Board

Fogarty's advisory board is comprised of researchers, policymakers and others involved in global health. Members meet three times each year to provide second-level review of Fogarty grant applications. They also provide strategic advice to the Center on its policies, programs and other matters.

Official information about Fogarty and other NIH events is available through the Federal Register, the daily journal of the U.S. government.

Meeting Schedule and Information

Upcoming Meetings (Open Sessions)

  • Hybrid: September 8, 2023
    • Agenda
    • Register to view and/or listen to the open session. (This link is for attendees only. Board members and speakers will receive a separate link.)
  • February 6, 2024
  • June 4, 2024
  • September 6, 2024

Recent Meetings (Open Sessions)

Fogarty Advisory Board Roster

  • Acting Fogarty Director Dr. Peter Kilmarx (Chair)
    Acting Director, Fogarty International Center
    Associate Director for International Research, National Institutes of Health
  • Dr. Otis Brawley
    Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Oncology and Epidemiology
    Johns Hopkins University
  • Carol Dahl, Ph.D.
    Former Executive Director
    Lemelson Foundation
  • Dr. Wondwossen Gebreyes
    Hazel C. Youngberg Distinguished Professor, Molecular Epidemiology
    Executive Director, Global One Health Initiative
    Ohio State University
  • Karen Goraleski, M.S.W.
    Chief Executive Officer
    American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene
  • Chandy John, M.D.
    Ryan White Endowed Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases
    Director, Ryan White Center for Pediatric Infectious Disease and Global Health
    Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Dr. Jennifer Kates
    Senior Vice President
    Director of Global Health & HIV Policy
    Kaiser Family Foundation
  • Dr. Maureen Lichtveld
    Dean of the Graduate School of Public Health
    Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health
    Jonas Salk Chair in Population Health
    University of Pittsburgh
  • Dr. Robert Murphy
    Executive Director, Institute for Global Health
    John Philip Phair Professor of Infectious Diseases
    Northwestern University
  • Judith N. Wasserheit, M.D., M.P.H.
    Professor, Global Health
    Chair, Global Health
    Professor, Medicine - Allergy and Infectious Diseases
    Adjunct Professor, Epidemiology
    University of Washington
  • Michelle A. Williams, Sc.D., S.M.
    Dean of the Faculty, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
    Angelopoulos Professor in Public Health and International Development
    Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, Harvard Kennedy School

Ex Officio Members

  • Diana W. Bianchi, M.D.
    Director, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
  • Janine Austin Clayton, M.D.
    NIH Associate Director for Research on Women’s Health
    Director, NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health (ORWH)
  • Gregory Germino, M.D.
    Deputy Director, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
    National Institutes of Health
  • Walter J. Koroshetz, M.D.
    Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
    National Institutes of Health
  • Vikas Kapil, D.O., M.P.H.
    Center for Global Health
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Executive Secretary

Kristen Weymouth
Office of the Director
Fogarty International Center
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2220
Phone: (301) 496-1415
FAX: (301) 402-2173
Email: Kristen.Weymouth@nih.gov

Updated August 31, 2023