Division of International Science Policy, Planning and Evaluation (DISPPE)

The Division of International Science Policy, Planning and Evaluation (DISPPE) provides strategic information and guidance to the Fogarty Director regarding the planning and evaluation of programs at the Center. The division advises Fogarty and its Director on matters of international science policy, legislation and partnerships. DISPPE tracks activities of international funding agencies and research trends in global health.

To complement DISPPE's strategic guidance efforts, Fogarty supports the Center for Global Health Studies (CGHS), which serves as a hub for project-based scholarship in global health science and policy.

Strategic Plan | Evaluations | Bioethics | Division Staff

Fogarty International Center's Strategic Plan

Fogarty's Strategic Plan will advance the global health research agenda by building on past and current Fogarty investments and successes in a way that responds to the changed landscape in global health.

Evaluation of Fogarty Programs

The division designs, structures and implements program assessments across Fogarty. DISPPE has developed a Framework for Evaluation, and has completed evaluations of a variety of Fogarty programs. For more information please contact Division Deputy Director Dr. Rachel Sturke at Rachel.Sturke@nih.gov.

Recent Fogarty program and division reviews and evaluations:

^ Top

International Bioethics

Fogarty supports the development of sound international bioethics policy and global ethical review capacity. Major initiatives include:

  • Fogarty's International Bioethics Training programs support education and research training to develop ethics expertise in low- and middle-income countries (LMICs).
  • In collaboration with partners at NIH and in the extramural community, Fogarty staff conduct original research on:
    • International research ethics
    • International research ethics education
    • Priority-setting for global health spending
  • Fogarty is a co-founder and funder of the Global Forum on Bioethics in Research, which provides a unique platform for stakeholders in health research from developing and developed countries to engage in dialogue about ethical concerns.
  • Fogarty maintains a collection of bioethics resources for bioethicists, research ethics committee members, researchers, students, and everyone else involved in international health research.

^ Top

Division Staff

Director, Division of International Science Policy, Planning and Evaluation
Director, Center for Global Health Studies:
Nalini Anand, J.D., M.P.H.
Nalini.Anand@nih.gov

Secretary:
Susan Harrison, B.A.
Susan.Harrison@nih.gov

Deputy Division Director and Senior Scientist:
Rachel Sturke, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.I.A.
Rachel.Sturke@nih.gov

Senior Scientist:
Linda Kupfer, Ph.D.
Linda.Kupfer@nih.gov

Bioethicist:
Joseph Millum, Ph.D.
Joseph.Millum@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Blythe Beecroft, M.S. (Contractor)
Blythe.Beecroft@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Arianne Malekzadeh, M.A. (Contractor)
Arianne.Malekzadeh@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Susan Vorkoper, M.P.H., M.S.W.
Susan.Vorkoper@nih.gov

Global Health Research and Policy Analyst:
Celia Wolfman, M.S.P.P.M.
Celia.Wolfman@nih.gov

Project Coordinator:
Ashley Antoine, B.S.
ashley.antoine@nih.gov

To view Adobe PDF files, download current, free accessible plug-ins from the Adobe's website.

Updated June 2016

Footer